The Dead Wife’s Handbook – Hannah Beckerman

The Dead Wife's Handbook

The Dead Wife’s Handbook

Hannah Beckerman

What’s on the back of the book:

The Dead Wife’s Handbook is the stunning emotional debut from author Hannah Beckerman. ‘Today is my death anniversary. A year ago today I was still alive.’ Rachel, Max and their daughter Ellie had the perfect life – until the night Rachel’s heart stopped beating. Now Max and Ellie are doing their best to adapt to life without Rachel, and just as her family can’t forget her, Rachel can’t quite let go of them either. Caught in a place between worlds, Rachel watches helplessly as she begins to fade from their lives. And when Max is persuaded by family and friends to start dating again, Rachel starts to understand that dying was just the beginning of her problems. As Rachel grieves for the life she’s lost and the life she’ll never lead, she learns that sometimes the thing that breaks your heart might be the very thing you hope for. Hannah Beckerman gives an unforgettable exploration of love and loss in her first novel, The Dead Wife’s Handbook. Praise for The Dead Wife’s Handbook: “Beautifully written and full of love”. (Fern Britton). “A moving and intriguing debut novel”. (Fabulous Magazine). Hannah Beckerman is a former TV and film producer living in London. The Dead Wife’s Handbook is her first novel.

My Review:

Get your tissues and your heart ready before you even open this book.

I heard about this book through other bloggers on twitter so knew I just had to read it.

The book follows Rachel, who has been dead for a year. Her unexpected death not only shocked her family but it also shocked Rachel as she watches her family and friends deal with life without her. Rachel has access to watch down on her husband Max and daughter Ellie as they deal with the tragedy and try with best to move on with their lives. Rachel narrates the story and the reader follows her witnessing the often frustrating moments and the realisation that life for Rachel was far too short and that she had so much more to do with her life.

I have read many debut novels, but this one was different. I could tell a lot of time effort and tears were shed during the process of writing this book. I do not know how Hannah wrote this book! The emotions and frustrations of Rachel were clear to see, the heartbreak of a mother and wife were sometimes very difficult to read, but it was written in such a way I had to read on. I felt the anger with Rachel that she was taken away from her life far to early. Reading how Rachel watched Max bring up Ellie without her was so moving, I wanted to grab Rachel and run so it didn’t break her heart even more.

As a member of a book club I was very impressed that at the back of the book there was questions targeted to book clubs. I cannot wait to discuss some of the questions at my next book club meeting.

Every review I have read about this book as ran true. Heart breaking, moving and emotional were often included in other reviews and I totally agree.

I can honestly say this book has made me look at my own life. I  lost someone close to me a few years ago, I miss him to this day. This book has made me think from his perspective, how frustrated he must be for me sometimes, his heart breaking for me, especially over the recent months . It has made me follow my dreams and stop worrying!

Hannah you have no idea what you have done to me, I’m in tears just writing this review!

Congratulations on a truly wonderful book. you should be very proud!

Frances.

p.s come back to my blog on the 11th March for a Q and A with Hannah Beckerman!

Leave a Reply

